Archivi Blog

Ecco i vincitori dei World Fantasy Awards 2019

Sono stati proclamati il 3 novembre scorso, durante la World Fantasy Convention a Los Angeles, CA, i vincitori dei World Fantasy Awards 2019.

I Lifetime Achievement Awards, assegnati ogni anno a personalità che hanno fornito un contributo sensibile al campo del fantasy e del fantastico, sono stati assegnati al Maestro Hayao Miyazaki e a Jack Zipes.

Qui sotto, la lista completa dei vincitori per categoria e dei nominati.

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Witchmark, C.L. Polk ( Publishing)
  • In the Night Wood, Dale Bailey (John Joseph Adams)
  • The Mere Wife, Maria Dahvana Headley (MCD)
  • The Poppy War, R.F. Kuang (Harper Voyager US; Harper Voyager UK)
  • Trail of Lightning, Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga)

Best Novella

  • WINNER: “The Privilege of the Happy Ending“, Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 8/18)
  • The Only Harmless Great Thing, Brooke Bolander ( Publishing)
  • The Black God’s Drums, P. Djèlí Clark ( Publishing)
  • The Tea Master and the Detective, Aliette de Bodard (Subterranean)
  • Beneath the Sugar Sky, Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)

Best Short Fiction (tie)

  • WINNER: “Ten Deals with the Indigo Snake”, Mel Kassel (Lightspeed 10/18)
  • WINNER: “Like a River Loves the Sky”, Emma Törzs (Uncanny 3-4/18)
  • “The Ten Things She Said While Dying: An Annotation”, Adam-Troy Castro (Nightmare 7/19)
  • “A Witch’s Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies”, Alix E. Harrow (Apex 2/18)
  • “The Court Magician”, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed 1/18)

Best Anthology

  • WINNER: Worlds Seen in Passing, Irene Gallo, ed. ( Publishing)
  • Sword and Sonnet, Aidan Doyle, Rachael K. Jones, & E. Catherine Tobler, eds. (Ate Bit Bear)
  • The Book of Magic, Gardner Dozois, ed. (Bantam; Harper Voyager UK)
  • Best New Horror #28, Stephen Jones, ed. (Drugstore Indian)
  • Robots vs Fairies, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)

Best Collection

  • WINNER: The Tangled Lands, Paolo Bacigalupi & Tobias S. Buckell (Saga)
  • Still So Strange, Amanda Downum (ChiZine)
  • An Agent of Utopia, Andy Duncan (Small Beer)
  • How Long ’til Black Future Month?, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Phantom Limbs, Margo Lanagan (PS)

Best Artist

  • WINNER: Rovina Cai
  • Galen Dara
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Shaun Tan
  • Charles Vess

Special Award – Professional

  • WINNER: Huw Lewis-Jones for The Writer’s Map: An Atlas of Imaginary Lands(University of Chicago Press)
  • C.C. Finlay, for F&SF editing
  • Irene Gallo, for Art Direction at Tor Books and
  • Catherine McIlwaine for Tolkien: Maker of Middle-earth exhibition (The Bodleian Libraries at the University of Oxford)
  • Molly Barton, Jeff Li, James Stuart & Julian Yap for Serial Box

Special Award – Non-Professional

  • WINNER: Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Mike Allen, for Mythic Delirium
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • E. Catherine Tobler, for Shimmer 
  • Terri Windling, for Myth & Moor

The World Fantasy Awards winners for works published in 2018 have been announced on November 3, 2019 during the World Fantasy Convention in Los Angeles, CA. The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, went to Hayao Miyazaki and Jack Zipes. See above the full list of winners and nominees.