Archivi Blog

World Fantasy Awards 2017: i finalisti

IMG_3109Sono stati annunciati i finalisti del World Fantasy Award 2017 per i lavori pubblicati nel 2016.

I vincitori saranno proclamati alla World Fantasy Convention di San Antonio, Texas, che si terrà dal 2 al 5 Novembre.

Il premio alla carriera per meriti eccezionali nel campo della letteratura Fantasy andrà a Terry Brooks e Marina Warner.

Qui di seguito, la lista completa dei finalisti, tra i quali siamo lieti di sottolineare la presenza di Victor LaValle con The Ballad of Black Tom nella categoria “migliore romanzo breve”, opera pubblicata in italiano da Edizioni Hypnos.


The Finalists for the 2017 World Fantasy Awards for works published in 2016 have been IMG_3005 announced.

The awards will be presented during the World Fantasy Convention, to be held on November 2-5, 2017 in San Antonio TX.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards will go this year to Terry Brooks and Marina Warner.

Here follows the complete list of the Finalists: we are happy to congratulate Victor LaValle for The Ballad of Black Tom (published in italian by Edizioni Hypnos), nominated in the category “best long fiction”.


Best Novel

Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)
Roadsouls, Betsy James (Aqueduct)
The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
The Sudden Appearance of Hope, Claire North (Redhook; Orbit UK)
Lovecraft Country, Matt Ruff (Harper)

Best Long Fiction

The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson ( Publishing)
The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)
Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)
“Bloodybones”, Paul F. Olson (Whispered Echoes)
A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson ( Publishing)

Best Short Fiction

“Das Steingeschöpf”, G.V. Anderson (Strange Horizons 12/12/16)
“Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny 11-12/16)
“Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
“Little Widow”, Maria Dahvana Headley (Nightmare 9/16)
“The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me”, Rachael K. Jones (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

Best Anthology

Clockwork Phoenix 5, Mike Allen, ed. (Mythic Delirium)
Dreaming in the Dark, Jack Dann, ed. (PS Australia)
Children of Lovecraft, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2016, Karen Joy Fowler & John Joseph Adams, eds. (Mariner)
The Starlit Wood, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)

Best Collection

Sharp Ends, Joe Abercrombie (Orbit US; Gollancz)
On the Eyeball Floor and Other Stories, Tina Connolly (Fairwood)
A Natural History of Hell, Jeffrey Ford (Small Beer)
Vacui Magia, L.S. Johnson (Traversing Z Press)
The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, Ken Liu (Saga; Head of Zeus)

Best Artist

Greg Bridges
Julie Dillon
Paul Lewin
Jeffrey Alan Love
Victo Ngai

Special Award, Professional

L. Timmel Duchamp, for Aqueduct Press
C.C. Finlay, for editing F&SF
Michael Levy & Farah Mendlesohn, for Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction (Cambridge University Press)
Kelly Link, for contributions to the genre
Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre

Special Award, Non-Professional

Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
Neile Graham, for fostering excellence in the genre through her role as Workshop Director, Clarion West
Malcom R. Phifer & Michael C. Phifer, for their publication The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume Two: Gods and Goddesses (Michael Publishing)
Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
Brian White, for Fireside Fiction Company